Audio-reactive particle system, Max MSP Jitter
Carnegie Mellon University

Idyll of 513 Dots is an audio-reactive particle system based on the piece 'Idyll 1' for 4 recorders composed in 1976 by Ryōhei Hirose and interpreted in this version by the Swedish Recorder Quartet in 2002. The piece explores a polyphonic landscape of four voices that playfully intersect along the way while reaching individual and collective ecstasy peaks during the seven minutes of the composition. Each voice's leading frequency is subtracted using an FFT (Fast Fourier Transformation) MaxMSP system and it is represented as a cloud of 512 dots in a dark universe that seems to dance with the 513th point that has escaped the group.